Gluten intolerance symptoms – Doctor shares tiredness among signs

Gluten is the name for proteins found in wheat, rye, and barley, but some people might react badly to ingesting the common ingredient. Found in breads, baked goods, pasta, and sauces, gluten “helps foods maintain their shape”, the Celiac Disease Foundation notes. The glue-like protein can also be found in food colourings, beer, and cereals.

Dr Jangda said an intolerance to gluten can lead to “stomach bloating and digestive problems”.

The consumption of gluten might lead to diarrhoea, constipation, or even vomiting.

An intolerance may also show up as “tiredness, fatigue, and body aches”.

Dr Jangda added that gluten intolerance might lead to “bone or joint pain, headaches, depression, anxiety, brain fog, and numbness”.

A more visible sign of gluten intolerance is dermatitis herpetiformis (i.e. itchy skin).

Leading charity Coeliac UK states: “If you think you may have a sensitivity to gluten, it’s important to first rule out coeliac disease.

“We do not recommend trying a gluten free diet as a first option if you are experiencing symptoms.

“This could prevent a coeliac disease test from giving you an accurate result.”

Don’t miss…
Mum says £39 online test uncovered cancer and saved her life[LATEST]
Woman’s ‘contact lens’ problem turned out to be incurable condition[CASE STUDY]
Experts on ‘best’ spice to add to your coffee to relieve bloating[LATEST]

People are encouraged to visit their doctor if they suspect they could be sensitive to gluten.

If coeliac disease is ruled out – and other conditions are not seemingly the cause of your symptoms – then a gluten-free diet might be helpful.

The Celiac Disease Foundation lists gluten-free food groups, such as:

  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Meat and poultry
  • Fish and seafood
  • Dairy
  • Beans, legumes, and nuts.

There are also gluten-free products in supermarkets.

Certain grains, legumes, seeds, and other starchy foods are naturally gluten-free.

These include:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Beans
  • Buckwheat groats (also known as kasha)
  • Cassava
  • Chia
  • Corn
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free oats
  • Millet
  • Nut flours
  • Potato
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Teff
  • Yucca.

The Foundation added: “There is some research indicating that some naturally gluten-free grains may contain gluten from cross-contact with gluten-containing grains through harvesting and processing.

“If you are concerned about the safety of a grain, purchase only versions that are tested for the presence of gluten and contain less than 20 parts per million.”

Source: Read Full Article